Principles of Quantum Matter

A Symposium to Celebrate Charles Kane’s 60th Birthday

August 9-11, 2023

Glandt Forum
Singh Center for Nanotechnology
3205 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

UPenn Physicist Charles Kane. Photography by Peter Tobia, Dec. 1, 2014.

Conference Organizers

Liang Fu (MIT)
Ben Wieder (Université Paris-Saclay/MIT)
Liang Wu (Penn)
Arjun Yodh (Penn)


Department of Physics and Astronomy
The Laboratory for Research on the Structure of Matter
School of Arts and Science
Air Force Office of Scientific Research


Ben Wieder (Université Paris-Saclay/MIT)


B. Andrei Bernevig, Princeton University Philip W. Phillips, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Martin Claassen, University of Pennsylvania Leo Radzihovsky, University of Colorado Boulder
Sankar Das Sarma, University of Maryland Andrew M. Rappe, University of Pennsylvania
Matthew Fisher, University of California Santa Barbara Nicholas Read, Yale University
Eduardo Fradkin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Jie Shan, Cornell University
Steven M. Girvin, Yale University Ady Stern, Weizmann Institute of Science
M. Zahid Hasan, Princeton University Jeffery Teo, University of Virginia
Moty Heiblum, Weizmann Institute of Science Senthil Todadri, MIT
Patrick A. Lee, MIT Ashvin Vishwanath, Harvard University
Tom Lubensky, University of Pennsylvania Liang Wu, University of Pennsylvania
Eugene Mele, University of Pennsylvania Ali Yazdani, Princeton University
Joel Moore, University of California, Berkeley Fan Zhang, University of Texas at Dallas


Wednesday, August 9

8:00-8:45 Breakfast
8:45-9:00 Opening Remarks
9:00-9:30 Eugene Mele
Views from 2N17
9:30-10:00 Zahid Hasan
Topological Quantum Matter: A new frontier
10:00-10:30 Tom Lubensky
Odd viscosity and beyond in rotationally driven active matter
10:30-11:00 coffee break
11:00-11:30 Jie Shan
Realization of the Kane-Mele model in semiconductor moiré superlattices
11:30-noon Philip Phillips
1/4 is the new 1/2: Emergent Mottness at Quarter filling in the Haldane and KM/BHZ Models
noon-1:30 lunch
1:30-2:00 Moty Heiblum
Anyonic Interference and Braiding in a Mach-Zehnder Interferometer
2:00-2:30 Eduardo Fradkin
Duality, Pairing and Fibonacci in Quantum Hall Fluids
2:30-3:00 Jeffrey Teo
Minimal unimodular integer quantum Hall states and their fractional descendants
3:00-3:30 coffee break
3:30-4:00 Leo Radzihovsky
Helical states of frustrated magnets
4:00-4:30 Liang Wu
Novel nonlinear optical responses in 2D PT-symmetric antiferromagnets

Thursday, August 10

8:15-9:00 Breakfast
9:00-9:30 Patrick Lee
Strongly driven superconductors: what the data tell us about the pseudogap in Cuprates
9:30-10:00 Ali Yazdani
Visualizing many body states in magical flat bands
10:00-10:30 Ady Stern
Topology and disorder - an alliance on average
10:30-11:00 coffee break
11:00-11:30 Nicholas Read
Structure of short-range spin glasses
11:30-12:00 Andrei Bernevig
Integer polynomial factorization and the many body spectrum of all famous physics models
12:00-1:30 lunch
1:30-2:00 Sankar Das Sarma
Charlie Kane, Proximity Superconductivity, and Majorana Zero Modes
2:00-2:30 Ashvin Vishwanath
Superconductors as Dual Topological Insulators
2:30-3:00 Fan Zhang
Penn Insulators in Quasi-1D Materials
3:00-3:30 coffee break
3:30-4:00 Andrew Rappe
Connecting topological physics with optoelectronics and surface chemistry
4:00-4:30 Matthew Fisher
Decoding and Steering Monitored Quantum Dynamics
4:30 Group photo at Singh Center

Friday, August 11

8:15-9:00 Breakfast
9:00-9:30 Joel Moore
Twenty-nine years following trails blazed by Charles Kane
9:30-10:00 Martin Claassen
Quantum-Geometric Interactions of Light and Strongly Correlated
10:00-10:15 coffee break
10:15-10:45 Steven Girvin       
Adventures in Phase Space: Quantum Signal Processing for Universal Control of Oscillators
10:45-11:15 Senthil Todadri
(Non-) Fermi liquids through a topological lens
11:30 Lunch


Registration for this event is required.

Registration Link

Travel Information

For information on local accommodations, visit the University's website.